The restoration of the Victorian Conservatory was completed in November 2013. Entry to the conservatory is included in Gardens Admission. The Conservatory is in the heart of the Gardens about 10 minutes walk from the main Visitor facilities.
Opening hours are a little shorter than the Gardens opening times, to allow visitors chance to return to the Long Barn Visitor Centre before closing.
The Conservatory is in the Gardens so please come dressed for a Gardens visit. Paths can be muddy after heavy rain.
The Conservatory is sometimes closed for private functions:
Conservatory Closure Dates 2015
Saturday 23rd – Closed from 12:30pm
Saturday 6th – Closed from 1:30pm
Saturday 13th – Closed from 11:30am
Friday 19th – Closed from 12:30pm
Saturday 27th – Closed from 1:30pm
Our grateful thanks go to the 100s of people who donated money as part of our sponsor a pane campaign. This allowed work to begin and for us to go on to raise the funding needed from the four major grant providers. Everyone who donated to the campaign is commemorated in two glass panels in the entrance lobby to the conservatory. Full dedications can be found in our book of dedications.
The Conservatory was constructed in 1885 by Crompton and Fawkes who described it as an ‘iron winter garden’ in their catalogue. It is a rare surviving Victorian glasshouse and in its day was at the forefront of technology, with electric lighting as early as 1886. It would have been used to display some of the many exotic plants, including orchids, palms and ferns collected by the family from around the world. It has been restored as a temperate glasshouse and now showcases plants from 5 continents.
For further information about the work of our principal funders, please follow the links below:
English Heritage, and